61150 SE 27th Street, Bend, OR

Steering Committee

Steering Committee Membership

Project Wildfire is governed by a 27 member Steering Committee comprised of leaders from all local, state and federal fire agencies as well members of the private sector including elected officials, a marketing consultant, forestry consultants, homeowners associations, insurance representatives, and environmental advocates.

Project Wildfire is the only group across the nation that is created by County ordinance to specifically address the risks of wildland fire in a community.

Although the word collaboration gets thrown around a lot these days, Project Wildfire is successful because of our partnerships and collective resources that allow us to succeed where an individual or one agency may not. Project Wildfire utilizes collaboration at every level – from our general membership to our work in neighborhoods and communities to make central Oregon safer against the threat of wildland fire.

Below is a current list of Project Wildfire’s membership.


George Chesley

At Large-1

La Pine Fire

Dan Daugherty


Deschutes County Rural Fire Protection District #2

Tom Fay, Vice-Chair


Oregon Department of Forestry-Unit Forester

Gordon Foster

Oregon Dept of Forestry

Spindrift Forestry Consulting

Dan Galecki

Private Forestry

Deschutes County Sheriff’s Office

Nathan Garibay

Emergency Manager

Sunriver Homeowners Association

Patti Gentiluomo

Homeowner’s Association-3

Black Butte Ranch Homeowners Association

Dave Gibson

Homeowner’s Association-2

Brown & Brown Insurance

Gary Githens


Project Wildfire/FireFree

Alison Green


Bend Fire & Rescue

Doug Green



Phil Henderson

County Commissioner

Deschutes County

Ed Keith, Chair

County Forester

D. Luke Enterprises

Dennis Luke

At Large-2

Sisters-Camp Sherman Rural Fire Protection District

Gary Marshall


Deschutes County Community Development Department

Matt Martin

Community Development Department

American Red Cross

David Morman


High Desert Museum

Erica Pelley



County 911 Director

Steve Reinke

911 Representative

Upper Deschutes River Coalition

Dean Richardson

At Large-3

Central Oregon Community College

Paula Simone

Central Oregon Community College

Oregon State University Extension Service

Nicole Strong

Oregon State University Extension Agent

United States Forest Service

Deana Wall

United States Forest Service

Business Community


Business Community




Local Neighborhood


Homeowner’s Association